The building of the Olaszliszka synagogue became empty and was left neglected after World War II. Even the stones of the synagogue were carried away, and after 10 years, only the walls remained from the former building. In 1965 and 1975, Director Miklós Jancsó created a short film trilogy about the synagogue. Today, it has a symbolic meaning in that when the synagogue was built, the late rabbi stopped builders from putting the final stone into the wall. He said that the incompleteness of the building would remind his community of the destruction of the Jerusalem Temple.
In recent decades, only certain parts of the eastern wall and the Torah cabinet remained. Built on the ruins, the memorial site evokes the old synagogue. According to the plans of Zsolt Szécsi, the western wall was rebuilt as a memento, revealing the original size of the synagogue and creating a sense of space among the ruins.
The most important element is still the Torah cabinet. Torah curtains (the parochet) are evoked by the concrete sculpture of Andrea Hári and Dóra Szeidl. Their work contains the following message in Hebrew: "Write this down on a scroll as a permanent reminder” (The Second Book of Moses, 17:14).
In the memorial site, the occasionally audible sounds of steps and the echoing lines of the Torah provide a unique acoustic and spiritual experience in the synagogue.
The night lighting focuses on the Torah cabinet. After a while, the lighting changes dramatically. In the 13th of April 1944, sixty-three families were deported from the village. Symbolizing the stars on that night, the flickering lights glow on the floor in the empty space.
Address: 15 Kossuth Lajos utca